How can I get omega-3s in my diet without eating fish?

The question: I’m a vegetarian. How can I get omega-3s in my diet without eating fish?

The answer: As a vegetarian, you’ll want to ensure you meet your daily requirements for alpha linolenic acid, or ALA, a plant-based omega-3 fatty acid. It’s plentiful in flaxseeds, chia seeds, hemp seeds, walnuts, soybeans and soy products. The other two omega-3 fatty acids – eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) – are found in oily fish and fish oil supplements. Even if you don’t eat fish, however, you can still get DHA in your diet.

 This is a question asked by a lot of non-vegetarians and perhaps even some vegetarians. Follow this link to read more of this article: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
Facebook
Facebook